Facing Doubts

“Spring is the time of plans and projects.”

-Leo Tolstoy

It is finally beginning to feel like spring here in our little corner of the world. After a long and cold winter here in Nova Scotia, it is refreshing and revitalizing to be able to open the windows and get a breath of fresh air. It feels so good.

I am one who typically doesn’t mind winter. I like the thought of the coziness of hunkering down and nesting during the colder months of the year. While some may think that I was probably a cat in a previous lifetime, perhaps I was more of a bear. Hybernating seems so comforting and safe to me.

However, the world has been a different place for most of us these past few years. Most of us have been spending much more time closer to home and while for many the daily routines have gone back to what one would feel is ‘more normal’, somehow it seems as if it will never be quite the same.

As I mentioned in my last post, both Keith and I were down with the COVID monster a couple of weeks ago. I guess it was just our turn. While we came through it pretty well, for me – I still feel the after-effects of being quite a bit more tired than normal and I am still not quite up to snuff in the energy department and seem to slow down earlier than I used to. But I am trying to be patient with myself and get back to things as quickly as I am able while allowing my body to heal. I know if I am patient that I will get there. It just takes a bit of time.

Things have been pretty slow for me here with my business, which I am kind of viewing as a mixed blessing. While I am happy that it isn’t a time when I am swamped with work when I am not feeling my best, there is the part of me that is somewhat worried about things petering out. I think that is one of the things that as a self-employed person tends to worry us the most: that we are able to sustain our business.

Keith tends to be what I call the ‘bean counter’ of the business. He keeps track of numbers and statistics far better than I ever could. I am sure that is part of why the business is as successful as it is. While I care about the numbers and things like that, it is more out of obligation rather than real interest. In my own short-sightedness, what matters to me most is if I am able to keep doing what I love to do and still survive. That is what I really think about, to be honest.

Perhaps that is why we are such a good pair. Between us, there is a sense of balance that is necessary for our longevity. The longer I do what I do, the more I have an understanding of why many artists aren’t able to make it in the business world. We think with our hearts more than our heads. We need a partner who is more grounded than we are to kind of force us to face the reality of what it takes to survive in the world as a viable business. And while sometimes those things can irritate and aggravate us, as they interfere with our creative flow, they are really necessary in order for us to survive.

That is why many creative people have agents. They have someone who can look after the practical interests while allowing the creative one to be creative. Even Vincent Van Gogh had his brother Theo, who tried his best to help him through the minefield of the business of painting. But whether we listen and follow the advice is ultimately up to us.

It seems that I have gone off on a bit of a tangent this morning while writing. But these thoughts have been filling my mind lately. I do like to share my thoughts on my journey as a self-employed designer and artist because so many of my friends and colleagues are creatives and I feel that sharing what we go through or feel helps us all in understanding our journey. I feel confident that I am probably not alone in these thoughts and I do think somehow it helps to know that others are going through the same. Knowing we aren’t alone helps us through times like this. It gives us the comfort we need to move ahead.

So onward we go . . .

Getting back to my opening, this year I am embracing the season of spring with open arms.

Usually, I find spring to be my least favorite season, as it is volatile, changeable, and uncertain. One day it is warm and sunny, and the next we are seeing snow falling. The branches are still bare and the ground is muddy and grey and messy. Spring is often chaos.

Change is usually chaotic. Often it is uncomfortable and can even be viewed as unpleasant. For myself, it is difficult to move from the security of my home (my nest, if you will) and venture out into the unpredictable world. It is easier for me to stay in my little bubble of winter than face the outdoors and all that it brings.

But this year, I somehow feel different. I am not sure of the reason for this change, but I am compelled to just go with it and look at things a bit differently than I have in the past.

Last summer, Keith and I spent more time outdoors together than we typically had in the past. We decided to take time to enjoy the beautiful place we live and even if it was only for an hour or so, we made it a habit to quickly pack a lunch and enjoy some time in the woods or by the ocean, appreciating the beautiful surroundings and each others’ company.

Sometimes we just drove a few kilometers down the road to picnic overlooking the ocean. Other times we took the day to explore the many lakes and trails in our area. But each time we went, we had no regrets about doing so and we came back feeling happy and refreshed. It felt great to appreciate such simple things.

I follow Lindsay Weirich (The Frugal Crafter) and she is one who loves the outdoors. She lives right across the bay in Maine and tells us of her many adventures either canoeing, hiking, or even just walking her dog in the woods. She is quite an inspiration, and just what I need. Hearing about her travels just makes me want to head out and have my own. We are, after all, each the author of our own lives, aren’t we? Much of how we live our lives is up to us.

With that said, I will keep pushing forward.

I have been working on three new patterns that should be available this week. I have no shortage of ideas, and I have several series of patterns that have previously been popular that I want to build on. (My snails, my songbirds, and my North Star Village.) Not to mention, all the new patterns that are living in my head. I just need to organize things and stop procrastinating about creating. I need to move forward and develop my ideas one at a time. Without fear of failure or doubts.

In the meantime, I have many beautiful patterns and wood kits for you all to enjoy to welcome in the season of spring:

My “Lavender Bunnies” (SKDP292), which can be painted on just about any surface and displayed all summer long . . .

The pattern includes two beautiful bunny scenes:

My “Sweet Painted Ladies” ornaments (SLDP276), which are quick and simple and would be even great for RAK (random acts of kindness) designs on rocks:

And my “Springtime Iris Banner” (SLDP220), which would make a lovely welcome banner or plaque for your home to welcome in the new season.

Each of these designs is among my favorites. All are created using DecoArt Americana Acrylic paint and can be done on just about any surface.

I hope that some of you can relate to this post. I don’t want to appear that I am complaining at all, but I do want others who are going through the same thing as I am to understand that you aren’t alone. We are in an ‘odd’ time in our world (to say the least!) and while some seem to get through things without missing a beat, others can be struggling just a bit. While some of the aspects of life may seem harder now, I like to think that my friends through social media and my work are what gets me through the days. Without you all, I would be lost.

Thank you so much for being here. I know that together we will have great things to come.

Until next time . . .

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I doubt I could build a business around my creative work. I don’t have a good business sense at all. I do understand how hard it is to maintain a balance and change is the process of throwing things all out of balance to try and find a new balance. I don’t know how I’d get through all that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do much better with Keith helping out. He makes the tough decisions so we are able to stay a viable business. Me – as I said – I think with my heart sometimes instead of my head. It is hard to balance both sometimes. Thanks for your thoughts. Your creative work is awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree Sheila. You need that balance of a creative brain and a business brain and most times it takes a partnership to achieve that balance. It’s hard to find that balance with one person. Love your bunnies! Spring is creeping in here in BC but still a lot colder than normal. Enjoy all your outdoor activities Sheila. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Anna. Yes – I don’t know what I would do without Keith. He is a huge part of any success that I have had. Having a partner helps so much. It is cold and rainy here today. Not ideal ‘spring’ weather for sure. But that is part of the season, I suppose. Thanks for your thoughts and for stopping by. Have a great week. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment